Appointment of the jury

The evaluation of samples is undertaken by commissions composed of jury members of which the number will depend on the number and type of products presented for the competition. The CIVR convenes and appoints jury members. Each commission in principle has 5 jury members (if possible of different nationality). Under no circumstances may the number of jury members be less than 3. A competitor who is a jury member may not judge wines. Jury members are people whose capacity as wine tasters is flawless. Juries are comprised of at least three members, including at least two thirds of competent and confirmed tasters from stakeholders in the wine production sector (wine producers, oenologists, technicians, merchants, brokers, wine representatives) and sommeliers, wine traders, journalists from professional press publications.

Jury members are selected by the CIVR from the best recognised specialists in tasting for their skills (people recognised in the wine production sector, sommeliers, restaurants or wine and gourmet press). Jury members will complete a sworn declaration indicating their links with the wine sector. Each commission operates under the authority of a chairman appointed by the CIVR. The president of the jury will oversee proper progress of tasting, the quality of wines served, inspection of filling in tasting forms and accreditation thereof. The president of the commission is responsible for overseeing proper performance of tasting operations for samples and :

  1. Guaranteeing confidentiality and anonymity of wines,
  2. Commissioning a second tasting of a sample where deemed necessary by virtue of his discretionary power.

The total number of international jury members is fixed in line with the number of samples.