Edition 2018

TERRA ALTA - CATALONIA

An itinerant event, for the next edition, Grenaches du Monde will be hosted by the wine growing region of Terra Alta in Catalonia. Catalonia will become the capital of Grenache in April 2018 for the sixth edition of the competition.

The Terra Alta appellation of origin :

the soul of Grenache blanc
The Terra Alta appellation of origin :

The southernmost wine growing region in Catalonia is located between the Ebro River and the Matarranya lands in Aragon. This is an ancient border zone where the Templars were already growing wines from as early as the 13th century.

The Garvinada and Cerç winds blow over these limestone mountains where holm oak, pine plantations, almond trees, vines and olive groves lie side by side. This essentially Mediterranean region is often compared to Italy’s Tuscany.

Temporarily recognised as an appellation of origin since 1972, Terra Alta is one of seven Catalan historic appellations of origin. Its geographical location endows its protected lands with scenic beauty, and UNESCO has recognised Terres de l'Ebre as a biosphere reserve. This is a special area for producing healthy, fully-developed grapes with character, while environmentally-friendly wine growing practices are followed.

Terra Alta is undeniably a spectacular region: Mediterranean hinterland where vines can be found growing at an altitude of 500 metres. The Mediterranean character of the terroir forms the character of the wines that stand apart through their finesse, robustness and their character: a Terra Alta wine can be traced to limestone lands, it develops under the Mediterranean sun and is crafted with the utmost care.

Passion, humility and a scrupulous work ethic are characteristics that define the producers of the Terra Alta appellation. 1,255 wine growers in total farm almost 5,800 hectares of vineyards which form a mosaic of varied grape varieties such as Macabeo, Parellada and Carignan. But Terra Alta's emblematic grape variety is undeniably Grenache. Whether white, black or “pelut”, Grenache is the variety that most eloquently expresses the full splendour of these Mediterranean lands exuding flavours, character, personality and subtle nuances.

As early on as in the 17th century, testimony tells of a Father Onofre Català grape crop called "Vernatxa". Nowadays, Terra Alta alone accounts for a third of the world's planted Grenache white, equating to 75% of Spanish production, and 90% of Catalan production for this grape variety ! It is not surprising that Terra Alta is one of the few regions in the world able to offer a wide range of wines of this varietal that can proudly bear the exclusive label guaranteeing excellence : Terra Alta Garnatxa Blanca.

The Terra Alta appellation of origin :
The Terra Alta appellation is undoubtedly the soul of Grenache blanc, and one of the Catalan regions most currently in vogue, making it the ideal territory for hosting the Grenaches du Monde competition in April 2018.
Winegrowers
Winegrowers
1255
Cellars
Cellars
52
Surface area
Surface area
5800 Ha
Production
Production
7 000 000 Bottles

Competition location

TERRA ALTA - CATALONIA

Édition 2018

TERRA ALTA - CATALOGNE

Evénement itinérant, Grenaches du Monde sera accueilli par la région viticole de Terra Alta en Catalogne pour sa prochaine édition. La Catalogne deviendra la capitale du Grenache au mois d’avril 2018 pour la 6ème édition du Concours.

L’appellation d'origine Terra Alta:

L'âme du Grenache blanc
L’appellation d'origine Terra Alta:

La zone viticole la plus méridionale de Catalogne est située entre la rivière de l’Ebre et les terres de Matarranya en Aragon. C’est une zone de frontières millénaires où les Templiers cultivaient déjà la vigne vers le 13ème siècle.

Les vents du Cerç et les Garbins soufflent sur ces montagnes calcaires, où se côtoient chênes verts, bois de pin, amandiers, vignes et oliveraies. On compare souvent cette région d’essence méditerranéenne à la Toscane italienne.

Reconnu à titre provisoire en tant qu’appellation d'origine depuis 1972, la Terra Alta est l'une des sept appellations d'origine historiques catalanes. Sa position géographique confère une grande beauté à ses paysages préservés, et l’UNESCO a reconnu ces Terres de l'Ebre comme réserve de la biosphère. C’est une zone privilégiée pour produire des raisins sains et murs, à fort caractère, dans le cadre d’une viticulture respectueuse de l'environnement.

La Terra Alta est indéniablement un paysage spectaculaire. Un arrière-pays méditerranéen où l’on trouve des vignes jusqu’à 500 mètres d'altitude. Ce caractère méditerranéen du terroir marque le caractère des vins qui se distinguent par leur finesse, leur puissance et leur caractère : un vin de Terra Alta prend ses racines dans des terres calcaires, il se développe sous le soleil méditerranéen et s’élabore avec grand soin.

La passion, l'humilité et l'effort au travail sont les caractéristiques qui définissent les producteurs de l’appellation Terra Alta. En tout, 1 255 viticulteurs cultivent près de 5 800 hectares de vignes qui forment une mosaïque de cépages variés comme le macabeu, la parellada ou le carignan. Mais le cépage emblématique de la Terra Alta est indéniablement le grenache. Que celui-ci soit blanc, noir ou « pelut », le grenache est la variété qui exprime le mieux la splendeur de ces terres de Méditerranée, faite d’arômes, de caractère, de personnalité et de nuances.

Déjà au 17º siècle, on retrouve un témoignage d’une plantation de l’abbé Onofre Català d’un raisin appelé « vernatxa ». De nos jours, la Terra Alta concentre à elle seule un tiers du grenache blanc mondial planté, soit 75% de la production espagnole, et 90% de la production catalane de ce cépage ! Il n’est pas étonnant que la Terra Alta soit l'une des rares régions au monde à pouvoir proposer une large gamme de vins de ce cépage qui puisse s’enorgueillir d’un label de garantie exclusif : Terra Alta Garnatxa Blanca.

VOIR LA VIDÉO DE L'ÉDITION 2018

L’appellation d'origine Terra Alta:
L’appellation Terra Alta est sans aucun doute l'âme du grenache blanc et l'une des zones de production catalane les plus en vogue actuellement, et c’est un territoire idéal pour accueillir en avril 2018, le concours des Grenaches du Monde.
Viticulteurs
Viticulteurs
1255
Caves
Caves
52
Surface
Surface
5800 Ha
Production
Production
7 000 000 Bouteilles

Lieu du concours

TERRA ALTA - CATALOGNE