Edition 2019

The touring Grenaches du Monde competition returns to its homeland this year. The 7th event of its kind will be hosted by the wine region of Roussillon, which in April 2019 becomes the capital of grenache.

Roussillon

The home of the four grenache varietals
Roussillon

Grenache is a staple varietal in the vineyards of Roussillon. It is a grape that craves warmth and dryness, and loves long, hot days and cool nights to slowly ripen. Roussillon therefore quite naturally offers it a prime location, conducive to growing the full range of Grenache varieties. Originally, only Grenache noir was grown but gradually Grenache gris and Grenache blanc developed. The variety now accounts for approximately 31% of the region’s area under vine. It is well-suited to the local soils and can therefore produce white, red and rosé wines, as well as dessert wines.

A fourth grape variety, derived from Grenache noir – Lledoner Pelut – has also been introduced. It is relatively similar to its cousin Grenache noir, not only for its characteristics and capabilities, but also in terms of flavour and aroma profile.

Grenache noir is currently used to produce 4 dessert wines – Banyuls, Banyuls Grand Cru, Maury and Rivesaltes – along with 9 dry appellation wines (Collioure, Côtes du Roussillon, Côtes du Roussillon Villages and named villages, and Maury Sec) and 2 PGIs (Côtes Catalanes and Côte Vermeille). Grenache gris and blanc, previously only used for dessert wines, now impart their typical Mediterranean character to white wines from the finest Roussillon vineyards.

Set between the sea and the mountains, Roussillon offers an extremely varied range of landforms along with a sunny, hot climate conducive to growing vines. An authentic amphitheatre facing the mediterranean to the East, it is bordered by three mountains ranges: the Corbieres in the North, the Pyrenees with Mount Canigou in the West, and the Alberes in the South. Roussillon is home to an extensive range of vineyards sites, as evidenced by its 14 AOC and 2 PGI.

ROUSSILLON AND ITS DESSERT WINES

Grenache reigns supreme when it comes to dessert wines and is often blended with Macabeu. It is used to produce all appellation dessert wines, apart from Muscat de Rivesaltes. Dessert wines – or Vins Doux Naturels – owe the discovery of their production process (fortification) in 1285 to Arnaud de Villeneuve and are an integral and unique part of Roussillon’s rich heritage. These timeless wines are an essential component of the region’s range, epitomising its history and encapsulating the soul of its winegrowers. They continue to appeal today for their elegance and sensuality. The amber-hued white dessert wines display aromas that flow into honey, coffee and dried fruits, whilst the brick-hued reds deliver scents of candied fruits and cacao.

Dry Rancios
No description of Roussillon would be complete without a mention of its dry rancios. These jewels in the region’s crown are labelled as PGI Côtes Catalanes and Côte Vermeille along with the dry rancio descriptor. They have travelled down through the centuries and offer historical evidence of Roussillon’s wine culture. Made primarily from the Grenache grape variety, the wines are dry because all of their sugar is turned into alcohol. The name ‘rancio’ stems from the fact that they are matured in an oxidative environment for several years and have quite simply developed a unique flavour, described as ‘rancio’. Roasted coffee, liquorice stick, walnut, curry, hazelnut, toasted nuts and brandy are all characteristic aromas of these wines.

Roussillon
Winegrowers
Winegrowers
2 535
Caves particulières
Caves particulières
362
Caves coopératives
Caves coopératives
29
Négociants
Négociants
102
Surface area
Surface area
20 900 Ha
Commercialisation
Commercialisation
75 000 000 bouteilles

Competition location

Perpignan - Roussillon

Édition 2019

Evénement itinérant, Grenaches du Monde reviendra sur sa terre d'origine et sera accueilli par la région viticole du Roussillon pour sa prochaine édition. Le Roussillon deviendra la capitale du Grenache au mois d’avril 2019 pour la 7ème édition du Concours.

Le Roussillon

Terre des quatre Grenaches
Le Roussillon

Le Grenache occupe une place majeure dans le vignoble roussillonnais. C’est un cépage en quête de chaleur et de sécheresse qui aime les longues journées chaudes et les nuits fraîches pour atteindre lentement sa maturité ; c’est pourquoi il a donc trouvé tout naturellement une place de choix en Roussillon et c’est ici qu’il s’est le plus diversifié puisqu’on y retrouve toute la famille des grenaches. À l’origine, il s’agissait exclusivement du Grenache noir, mais peu à peu les formes grises et blanches se sont développées. Il représente aujourd’hui environ 31% de la surface du vignoble. Adapté aux terroirs, on le retrouve vinifié dans les vins blancs, rouges et rosés ainsi que dans la famille des Vins Doux Naturels.

Un quatrième cépage, dérivé du Grenache noir s’est installé en Roussillon, il s’agit du Lledoner Pelut. Il est relativement semblable à son cousin le Grenache noir, tant au niveau de ses caractéristiques et de ses aptitudes, mais également sur un plan organoleptique.

Le Grenache noir intervient aujourd’hui dans 4 AOC Vins Doux Naturels (Banyuls, Banyuls Grand Cru, Maury et Rivesaltes), 9 AOC Vins Secs (Collioure, Côtes du Roussillon, Côtes du Roussillon Villages et dénominations de communes, et Maury sec), et 2 IGP (Côtes Catalanes et Côte Vermeille). Les Grenaches gris et blancs, autrefois réservés à l’élaboration des Vins Doux Naturels, apportent aujourd’hui leur typicité méditerranéenne aux vins blancs des meilleurs crus du vignoble roussillonnais.

Entre mer et montagne, le Roussillon est un territoire au relief extrêmement varié avec un climat ensoleillé et chaud, propice à la culture de la vigne. Authentique amphithéâtre ouvert à l’Est sur la mer Méditerranée, il est bordé de trois massifs : les Corbières au Nord, les Pyrénées avec le Mont Canigou à l’Ouest et les Albères au Sud. Le Roussillon est riche de la diversité de ses terroirs comme en témoignent ses 14 AOC et 2 IGP.

LE ROUSSILLON ET SES VINS DOUX NATURELS

Le grenache est le cépage roi pour l’élaboration des Vins Doux Naturels, souvent assemblé avec le macabeu. Il entre dans la composition de toutes les AOC VDN, en dehors du Muscat de Rivesaltes. Les Vins Doux Naturels, nés au Moyen-âge et dont la découverte de leur processus d’élaboration (mutage) est attribuée à Arnaud de Villeneuve en 1285, font partie intégrante des richesses du Roussillon et constituent un patrimoine unique. Témoins d’histoire, porteurs de l’âme des vignerons, ces vins intemporels et incontournables, séduisent encore et toujours par leur élégance et leur sensualité. Les VDN blancs ambrés ont des arômes évoluant vers le miel, le café et les fruits secs ; les rouges tuilés livrent des senteurs de fruits confits et de cacao.

Les Rancios secs
Comment parler du Roussillon sans évoquer les Rancios secs. Véritables trésors du Roussillon, ces vins sont sous l’appellation IGP (Côtes Catalanes et Côte Vermeille) et bénéficient de la mention « Rancio sec ». Ils ont traversé des siècles d’histoire et constituent un témoignage de la culture viticole du Roussillon. Issus principalement du cépage Grenache, ces vins sont secs car tous leurs sucres ont été transformés en alcool, et rancios parce qu’ils sont élevés en milieu oxydatif pendant plusieurs années et ont acquis tout simplement un goût et une saveur particulière : le rancio. Torréfaction, bâton de réglisse, noix, curry, noisette, fruits secs grillés, eau de vie ... sont les arômes qui caractérisent ces vins.

Le Roussillon
Viticulteurs
Viticulteurs
2 535
Caves particulières
Caves particulières
362
Caves coopératives
Caves coopératives
29
Négociants
Négociants
102
Surface
Surface
20 900 Ha
Commercialisation
Commercialisation
75 000 000 bouteilles

Lieu du concours

Perpignan - Roussillon